Press & Awards

In its remarkable forty-year history, I’m Sorry I Haven’t A Clue has attracted a considerable amount of praise and picked up virtually every prize for radio comedy going.

Press Quotes


‘I’m Sorry I Haven’t A Clue is Radio 4’s best loved comedy show. Whether the teams are singing the words of one song to the tune of another, or making up serial rhymes or entering the mythic maze of Mornington Crescent, they have now become the National Theatre of fun’


Gillian Reynolds, Daily Telegraph

‘The funniest comedy quiz show of them all’


Sue Arnold, The Observer

‘The most genuinely and infallibly cheering programme on radio’


Nigel Andrew, Daily Mail

‘It’s trying not to laugh which hurts’


Laurie Taylor, The Times

‘It’s like watching a good jazz band play – the pleasure lies in hearing the improvisations grow from nothing… It’s the sound of time wasting’


Stephen Pile, Daily Telegraph

‘One day people will envy us for living through the years when this magnificent half-hour enlivened every Sunday lunchtime. Ours will be known as the Golden Days of Radio’


Sue Gaisford, Independent on Sunday

The constant sound of the radio was my greatest comfort… There was a comedy quiz with Willie Rushton, Tim Brooke-Taylor, Barry Cryer and Graeme Garden which made me laugh out loud. I thought to myself: ‘Look at you, the situation you’re in and you’re laughing!’

Stephanie Slater (kidnap victim imprisoned in coffin), The Sun

‘ISIHAC is still unmissable. It remains the most thrillingly anarchic panel show in any media you care to name’

Simon Mayo, Mail on Sunday


I’m Sorry I Haven’t A Clue has won numerous awards over the years, including the prestigious Gold Sony Award for radio comedy no fewer than three times; in 1995, 2002 and in 2004 for I’m Sorry I Haven’t A Christmas Carol, featuring the usual cast with Stephen Fry, Andy Hamilton, Jeremy Hardy, Tony Hawks, Sandi Toksvig and Linda Smith.

In addition, the show has also won a Bronze Sony Award for Radio Comedy in 1999. Other awards include: Best Radio Comedy, British Comedy Award (1995), Radio Programme of the Year, British Press Guild (1997), Radio Programme of the Year, Voice of the Viewer & Listener (1997 and 2003), Radio Programme of the Year, Television & Radio Industries Club (2003 and 2005), and Best Comedy, Spoken Word Award (2003), Best Radio Panel Show, British Comedy Guide (2009, 2010, 2012, 2013, 2014, 2015, 2019, and 2020).